Creative Entrepreneurship 2012 Class Profiles: Lydia Ogoti



Profile
Name: Lydia Ogoti
Location: Nairobi
Occupation: Performing Artist

Bio
Born in 1975 in Nairobi to a family of seven, Lydia Mwango Ogoti grew up listening to the music that basically shaped her into what she is today. In 2002 she joined the professional world as a background vocalist to some of the renowned singers such as Achien’g Abura, Barbara Guantai and currently Suzanna Owiyo. She has had the privilege to perform in both local, regional and international platforms.

Portfolio
In 2002 as one of Achien’g Abura’s vocalist we performedin Senegal Dakar and joined the Les Tchielly band. In 2004 we also performed at the Sauti Ya Busara Festival in Zanzibar and later on the same year we curtain raised for Youssou Nd’our a renowned Senegalese Musician.
In 2006-2008 I briefly worked for Barbara Guantai who had an energetic, young vibrant style. She taught me how use my voice and out of this training,I learned how to vocal train.
I had the chance to experience different sounds from different Artistes across the country under the project Spotlight on Kenyan Music. At the same time I was able to vocal train Shangilia Children’s Home, Alliance Francaise Open Mic Competition,Church Choirs and individuals.
In 2007 I joined Suzanna Owiyo and was influenced by her unique authentic sound which has played a key role in re-defining my voice. We had a show in Uganda and the following year we traveled to Spain to perform at the WOMEX Festival.
In 2009, we also performed at the La Territorios Festival in Seville Spain. In 2010 I had the chance to perform in Dakar Senegal, Festival Mondiale des Negres and backing vocals for Achien’g Abura.
The Jacob Kulturkiken performance in Oslo, Norway 2011 brought a lot of limelight to her new album My Roots. The same year we had the opportunity to perform with Oliver Mutukudzi both here in Nairobi and Uganda.

My latest addition is the opportunity this year is to work as Suzanna’s Personal Assistant, my first assignment was to assist her record a song celbrating the girl child for  Plan International Project. A video was also made.. We traveled to South Africa Johannesburg to work with the renowned singer Yvonne Chakachaka. My new venture as a solo artist has its ups and down I was able to add my spice to Hauschka Recording which was done at the Goethe Institut. I have done solo performances at the Carnivore in 2011 during he stage performances.

About Creative Enterprise Programme Kenya

Programme run by the GoDown Arts Centre in partnership with other stakeholders
This entry was posted in Artists, Dance/Choreography, Performing Artist, TV & Radio Production, Writer. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

