Creative Entrepreneurship 2012 Class Profiles: Mary Ogembo



Profile
Name: Mary Ogembo
Location: Nairobi
Occupation: Visual Artist

My Name is Mary Ogembo I’m a Kenyan visual artist currently based at the Godown Arts Centre in Nairobi. I holds a Diploma in Fine Art from Creative Arts Centre Nairobi. I was one of the eleven 2005 Commonwealth Arts and Crafts Award winners which enabled me to take a six months commonwealth exchange programme at The Kwame Nkurumah University of Science and Technology Kumasi- Ghana in 2006.

For more information visit: http://www.nairobits.com/wilson/arts/?page_id=2

Portfolio
I have worked with international artists including Dinkies Sithole of South Africa, Muhammad Raza of Tanzania, Kizito Maria Kasule of Uganda, Joel Mpah Dooh of Cameroon and David Tremlett of United- Kingdom. During my Cultural Exchange visit to France, I worked with French Artists, women and children. In Kenya I have taught street children in Dandora- Undugu Society rehabilitation centre and also children from non-formal schools in Nairobi. Also, I participated in a number of exhibitions in and out of Kenya and her works have been displayed in Nairobi, France, Germany, Canada, Zimbabwe, Ghana, Egypt and Zambia among others.

For more on my art work visit: http://www.nairobits.com/wilson/arts/?page_id=17

Life Cycle
I have been a sculptor but currently I am concentrating on painting and my theme, as a painter is African Women, their beauty and duties. Sometimes I chooses to paint other topics that are of interest to me. This is actually when I want to take a break from my usual theme.

My main dream as an artist is to become one of the worlds’ greatest artists, an artist who shall have vividly conveyed a lot about the African woman through art.

About Creative Enterprise Programme Kenya

Programme run by the GoDown Arts Centre in partnership with other stakeholders
This entry was posted in Artists, Visual Artist and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

