Creative Entrepreneurship 2013 Class III Profiles: Benson M Marcus

Cards

Cards


Benson
Name: Benson M Marcus
Occupation: arts and craft graphics design
Location: Nairobi
Website: www.simplecards.kbo.co.ke
Twitter: @benmakoss
Facebook: Benson M Marcus
Wordpress: http://www.benmakoss.wordpress.com
E-mail: benmakoss[at]gmail[dot]com

Profile
I have always been passionate about art ever since I was in Primary School.

Bio
My dad used to sing in the choir. He had that singing voice, and sometimes I used to imitate him. I like music a lot. When I started sketching, I was in primary school, he used to encourage me whenever he came across my drawings and my mum supported me a lot too. When I joined high school, for my love of art, I dropped French as a subject and instead took up art and design.I just love art.

Mission/Vision
Inspire more creative’s
Mentor other creative’s through reaping the value of artistic creativity.

My Journey
For the love of art, I have always dreamt of having my own brand. I have been trying my level best to gain knowledge and experience from other artists by researching, asking frequent questions, visiting galleries; I have been painting walls, houses e.t.c. I opted to join graphics; I am a self taught graphic designer. I do T-shirts, mugs, posters, handmade cards e.t.c

It was challenge trying to grow and stand out as an artist since I didn’t have that much knowledge on how things work but ever since I joined creative entrepreneurial class, I have discovered myself and I have learnt a lot from this class. Thanks to the facilitators, I have the knowhow and I need to sharpen my skills from what have learnt e.g through research, communication, marketing and public relations and creative and cultural industries . Money saved is money is money well spent, my personal diary has shown me the true meaning of saving’s and I have learnt how to negotiate contracts, raising finance, managing people not forgetting gadgets and tools from all this will put them into practice and reap through creativity. The painter has to learn the habit of thinking that things seem to have color which common sense says they really have and learn the habit of seeing things as they appear.

Values

I’m guided by the values of learning, innovation, creativity, punctuality, honesty, teamwork, partnership and integrity.
Creative life cycle
I’m between formative and domain and public recognition

Portfolio

Card Samples

Card Samples


Card Samples 2

Card Samples 2


Card Sample 3

Card Sample 3

Other Works

Branded Caps, Tees...

Branded Caps, Tees…

18 months plan
My plan is divided into 6 months..

About njathika

Simply cannot fit in a box
This entry was posted in Designer and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Creative Entrepreneurship 2013 Class III Profiles: Benson M Marcus

  1. Josh says:

    I have purchased a good number of Ben’s cards and I must say they have a first impression that compels someones heart to understand why they were created in the first place and that is to make someone happy.Lets support African art the world at large.Good job Benson

Leave a Reply

