Creative Entrepreneurship 2015 Class V Profiles: Deborah Wanjugu

Cover
Profile
Name: Deborah Wanjugu
Occupation: craft entrepreneur, musician and lawyer
Location: Nairobi, Kenya

Bio
I am a craft entrepreneur, musician and lawyer. Being a multi-talented individual has proven to be quite a challenge but this course has helped me overcome it.

Life Cycle
My story with Daka (the craft business)
My mother used to make clothes for me when I was growing up. I remember seeing the house full of magazines, patterns, measuring tape, sequins, glitter, pins… and beautiful dresses.

In December 2008 I went to the Kenya Music Week where I met Sylvia Gichia who was exhibiting her pieces and I went bananas! I had never seen jewellery like that before. I was beside myself with awe as I watched her effortlessly creating more pieces.
In September 2010 I started making my own pieces, and continued to do so until 2013 when I participated the Craft Entrepreneurship Incubation Program, then run by Craft Afrika. There I made the first real connection between law and culture. After the course I returned to employment from June 2013 to September 2014.

My story with music
I grew up with three older brothers all of whom influenced my musical exposure but the third brother was my greatest influence. He started a studio in his bedroom and produced two albums while still making beats for other artistes. Watching his creative process and struggles with the industry sat with me.
The only place I have ever sung in is in church from the age of twelve. However I have not sang in public since November 2014.
Now…

The hiatus from any form of creative outlet for almost one year forced me to look inward. I found that I was running out of excuses for myself regarding why I was not performing solo or designing. That is how I ended up joining this course.
This course has helped me own my creative journey and many talents; I don’t have to fit into other people’s moulds of what I should be. Interacting with artists in different fields also ignited my creative juices and forced me to actively engage myself in order to find my voice and draw my future plans.
The first course gave me an entry point into the legal side of culture. This course has helped me come to terms with myself as I am. Nothing could be greater than that.
My long term plan is to have a training institution for music and the arts. For now though, I will focus on craft and music as separate business models.

Portfolio

Daka Portfolio

Daka Portfolio

Vision
Music: To help artists create timeless Kenyan music through training.
Daka: To preserve Kenyan culture through functional art pieces

Mission
Music: To be an institution known for its comprehensive curriculum that is relevant, market specific, practical and enables artistes retain career growth
Daka: To be a design house renowned for reflecting Kenyan culture in modern design to meet our clients’ individual needs.

Values
Music: Adeptness, Integrity, Relationships
Daka: Authenticity, Culture, Relationships

18 month plan
Music: Continue honing my skills before rolling out the first class in 2016.
Daka:
3 months- Be done with prototype and initial market research
5 months- Develop online marketing strategy and presence
6-8 months- Commence sales

About njathika

Simply cannot fit in a box
This entry was posted in Class Profiles, CRAFTMANSHIP, musician and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

