Creative Entrepreneurship 2015 Class V Profiles: Macharia Ngotho

ME Ltd

ME Ltd

IMG-20150416-WA0009
Profile
Name: Macharia Ngotho
Company: Myndz Enterprise Ltd
Online Presence: http://www.myndz.co.ke/
Google Drive: https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B_Ztm-5U1j2-LUFLa0hlTnNxVWs

My Creative Life Cycle…
My story is off a curious teenager who fell in love and stayed in love. Growing up I always loved to draw and make things. I first fell in love with design around 1996 unknowingly, when I got to use my uncles PC and immediately entered into the world of word and paint. I spent a number of hours glued to the screen trying out different ways to write my name. I hardly knew then there was anything like design. In 1997 we moved to Namibia where I met Peter, a good friend who shared my love for paint. He too was also exploring the possibilities of using paint and we experimented with his computer graduating to altering the background of our pictures and pasting Hollywood celebrities next to us.

Around this time my brothers set up a studio (Myndz Community) where they produced music and videos. Antony Bett a Graphic designer operated in that same space. I was in awe of his. Tony introduced me to the world of Photoshop which I soon discovered was a god compared to paint, this software had numerous fascinating layers, I was in heaven, and the possibilities were endless. I would then use my time on the internet to search for tutorials which I would then print out and wait for the computer to be free for my classes to begin.

Back then everything was Photoshop (to me), I loved design but I had not yet placed it as a career move as I was studying business management and Industrial psychology at the University of Namibia 2003. My first job landed in my second year of campus. One of my older sisters friend was starting an organization and needed a logo I was quick to say I can do that, I made the logo and they paid me N$ 200 (about Ksh 1,600). Okay so this thing I’m in love with can earn me money… I need to learn more…

Somewhere along the way the adobe family was born. I was asked to make a booklet of four pages, okay I can do it but Photoshop only has one art board as I researched I discovered Photoshop’s’ brother illustrator and my work got cleaner.

I had a few jobs I was doing back then a businessman and a waiter at Spur steak and grill. My oldest brother had moved back to Kenya so he would supply me with timberland shoes, fabric, synthetic braids and weaves. I was putting my entrepreneurial degree to use and to feed my passion I would design posters and market for I a dollar saved is a dollar earned.

By the time I moved back to Kenya in 2009 December with my wife and 1 year old son (Zion) I knew I had to fully form my design skills to get better projects. I had my degree and tried to look for work but at the same time I would walk to my family friend offices and offer my skill for design. One of my fathers’ friend Mr. Nguru Wachira advised me to start a business so I registered Myndz Enterprise name. Later another one of his friends referred me to Mr. Augustine Monyo who gave me a desk to work from and would once in a while throw me some projects as he owns a branding company. Word of mouth was my friend and my cousins and friends would refer me to people who needed work done and slowly Myndz Enterprise grew.

4 years down the line my other brother came from UK and we made Myndz Enterprise Limited.
We have embarked on a journey of networking with the aim of gaining recognition in the market.

Portfolio

Angle

Angle


BFD 24

BFD 24


Broad base roll up banner

Broad base roll up banner


GLES-G

GLES-G


Kilili front

Kilili front


Kilili inside

Kilili inside

Vision
My vision is to mold the brand from the beginning and add value through:
• Creative & interactive design
• Brand image photography
• Innovative Printing

I envision Myndz enterprise to be a leader in Brand & Strategy development and look forward to engaging in projects that will build my portfolio. I look forward to growth and will continue to aim to build on my skills. My passion for unearthing the inside story and translating the unique voice of each and every task to effective visual brand communications pushes me to better myself.

Programs such as this Creative Entrepreneurship have fueled my fire and equipped me with skills that would have otherwise seen me set back a few years if I hadn’t acquired them.

My biggest takeaway is the power of pricing and drawing for fun. I have evolved from a curious teenager to a family man and this transition means I have to be more financially awakened by hook or crook! I have learnt how to manage the inflow of money, that elusive creature we are all chasing.

Plan
My main focus is on Brand Development.

About njathika

Simply cannot fit in a box
This entry was posted in Class Profiles, Designer and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

