Creative Entrepreneurship 2015 Class VI Profiles: Jeffie G. Magina

Cover

Jeffie G. Magina

Profile
Name: Jeffie G. Magina
Occupation: Visual Artist
Location: GoDown Arts Centre

Artist Bio
I am a world class visual artist, an aggressive entrepreneur and a loving father to my lovely daughter Ella Magina. I am a free spirit and its very evident in my art. Currently I get my inspiration from children. I believe my art is for posterity and I intend to leave a legacy behind for other individuals to emulate. Children have a sense of freedom that I admire and they always present an innocent feeling.

I paint with Acrylics, Oil and Mixed media.

Creative Life Cycle
Growing up with a journalist father who travelled a lot and loved animations made me connect to another side of my being hidden from the ordinary. For as long as I can remember I have been in an imaginary world that I can only explain through painting. I sketched a lot when I was younger; I never knew that this was my path. Most of my folks didn’t give my art much attention but I felt that this was my calling. When my dad passed on my life took a twist and I felt no inspiration to draw. It got worse when I lost my mum. I had an arduous childhood; I was only 10 when all this unfolded. I was separated from my brothers and I was basically alone though I had people surround me the void became too much and I resorted back to painting because it was my only escape.

I continued painting using mostly coloured pencils and water color. When I joined high school I started doing graffiti and left painting. I finished school got into business and eventually went on pursuing other disciplines and not art. I graduated with a CPA (K) and a Bachelor’s degree from Strathmore University while working as a Company Accountant in a pension firm. Well, I gave up my career to follow my passion. I became a full time artist in 2014 and I have never looked back since.

In the Studio

In the Studio


I love to express myself through art because this is the only way that I feel I am myself. So basically that me and my journey nabado I still have a long way ahead.

Portfolio

Portfolio 1

Portfolio 1

Portfolio 2

Portfolio 2

Portfolio 3

Portfolio 3

12-Month Plan
In 2016, I intend to hold at least 2 Solo exhibitions and 2 group exhibitions. I also intend to start a children art project dubbed “Chora Chora Art Project” and it will run entirely within my artistic cycle. People should look forward to that project. I also intend to have at least 2 residencies one international and one local. I am also intending to hold art workshops for amateur artists and upcoming artists.

I also intend to create at least 300 art pieces in 2016. And I will number all my art pieces in order of creation.

Vision
To inspire the world through my world.

Mission
To be an inspiration to future generations.

About njathika

Simply cannot fit in a box
This entry was posted in Visual Artist and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

