Creative Entrepreneurship 2016 Class VII Profiles: Baraka Kuria

Baraka Kuria Photography

Baraka Kuria Photography

Baraka

Baraka

Profile
Name: Baraka Kuria
Occupation: Photographer
Location/Base: Nairobi
Social Media & Website Links:
Websites: http://www.photoarmoury.com
http://www.barakakuria.me
Social Media: Facebook:www.facebook.com/photoarmoury
Instagram:www.instagram.com/photoarmoury
Flickr:https://www.flickr.com/pikchaperfekt

Bio
“The camera is the least important element in photography.” -Julius Shulman

I am a photographer specializing in landscape & nature photography with a style consisting of colorful and energetic imagery.

I don’t photograph subjects. I photograph the way they make me feel. I admit that it is a strange concept. But it is honest – and it is the best way to describe my approach to the craft.

My Journey
This was not the career I anticipated myself pursuing, but life has a funny way of working out.

After high school, I took an accounting course. But it only took one accounting class for me to realize there was no way I could do that for the next 30 years. I immediately made the switch to Computer Science, specializing in Web Development.

Web Development was the perfect playground for me. The challenge of creating relevant, interesting, and meaningful designs to connect with and inspire an audience to action invigorates me.

After graduating, I worked in the media department of a non-profit organization where I helped them to grow their impact and gain new fans.

It was during this period that I picked up the camera – now 8 years ago.

Using a camera allowed me to capture and share the impact our organization was having on the world. As an added bonus, it gave me an excuse to explore the world and the opportunity to meet new people. I quickly became hooked on creating photographs.

In 2009, I left the organization and formed my own web development company, with photography as a part time hobby. Over the course of the next seven years, photography overtook web development and became my main income earner.

Today, I am doing what I love most…. creating meaningful & engaging content and partnering with individuals and organizations to capture how they are making the world a better place.

Vision
Capturing breathtaking moments in East Africa and sharing them across the globe.

Mission
To create meaningful and stunning images, while projecting a pleasant, patient and understanding attitude.

Portfolio

landscapes-1

landscapes-1

landscapes-2

landscapes-2

macro-1

macro-1

macro-2

macro-2

nature-wildlife-1

nature-wildlife-1

nature-wildlife-2

nature-wildlife-2

About njathika

Simply cannot fit in a box
This entry was posted in Photographer and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

