Creative Entrepreneurship 2016 Class VIII Profiles: ERIC SIRAMA

dsc_3886
Profile
NAME: ERIC SIRAMA
OCCUPATION: PHOTOGRAPHER/ FILMMAKER
LOCATION: NAIROBI
SOCIAL MEDIA: ERIC SIRAMA (FACEBOOK)

CREATIVE ENTERPRISE BIO
My name is Eric Sirama and I am a Photographer and Filmmaker based in Nairobi. I love taking portrait photographs of people and in particular how people interact with the environment we are in. I love how when a picture is taken in a certain environment it tells a certain message without needing any complex interpretation.

I also like storytelling and that is what that has drawn me to become a filmmaker. I have always been intrigued at how visual media can be used to inspire change or help educate the community and this is why I decided to take the line of film as I think sharing stories can be great platform to bring change.

CREATIVE LIFE-CYCLE
From a very early age I got a keen interest in pictures and how they can be used to tell a story, either from the newspaper cuttings I used to hide to comic books that I read. This interest was rekindled again when I got the chance to learn more about the camera, this really brought out the fire in me as I got a chance to practice a craft that I really admired.

I used to do Photography as a hobby but as time went by I got a bit of encouragement and appreciation of what I do by my friends and this pushed me to want to learn more about it and perfect the skill. I am still in my formative years and pushing myself to learn more about my craft. The person that inspires me the most is Osborne Macharia as I like how he tries to come up with fictional characters to tell a story through excellent characters and well thought of concepts.

VISION
Picture Africa positively/differently for the rest of the world to see.

MISSION
Use Photography and film to bring about a change of negative perception in people in my community.

PORTFOLIO
dsc_37632

dsc_3767

dsc_5533-2

dsc_2340-2

dsc_5852-2

18 MONTH PLAN
1. REGISTER A BUSINESS – In order to operate on a much more professional manner and also to bring some seriousness in the craft. For starters a Sole Proprietorship registration with the responsible authorities.
2. SHOOTING GEAR UPGRADE – Improve the collection of what I use to shoot with so that I can be able to achieve an intended look with the camera. Also offer some variety of styles by having different choices of kits such as lenses.
3. IMPROVE ON SKILLS – By shooting more frequently and selecting different themes so that I understand different aspects of the camera and how to push them to the limit. Secondly By seeking a mentor Photographer who could guide and offer advice on how to improve and also learn the workflow involved.
4. PARTNERING- By partnering with other creatives from different genres such as musicians, visual artists and also those who we are in the same domain. In order to come with unique and better concepts.

About njathika

Simply cannot fit in a box
This entry was posted in Film, Photographer and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

