Creative Entrepreneurship 2016 Class VIII Profiles: Otieno Obunga

oti-cover-photo

oti-profile-picture

Profile
Name: Otieno Obunga
Occupation: Graphic Designer/3D Visualizer | Founder Arachnid Graphics
Online Presence
Website: arachnid graphics
Facebook: link
You Tube: Arachnid Graphics YouTube Channel

Bio
Otieno was born and spent the first seven years of his life in Mombasa before moving to Nairobi. He is a graphic designer and a 3D visualizer. In 2014 he founded Arachnid Graphics around working with virtual representation of spaces and products.

Arachnid Logo

Arachnid Logo

Before Arachnid Graphics, he worked for The Trust for African Rock Art for 5 years, Longhorn Publishers for 1 year and 3 months and finally African Cotton Industries for 6 months as a graphic designer.

Creative Cycle
Up to the time I was clearing Primary School, I was not interested in art. I picked it up when I was joining high school and I decided to pursue it. I was not allowed in the art class since the art teacher believed I would not be able to excel in it since I never knew anyone in my family who had it in them. With that, he condemned me to an agriculture class.

This did not kill my resolve, so I turned my math text books into drawing books! I would sketch my favourite cartoon characters on any empty space in them. This of course was not a popular idea with my dad. Upon clearing high school with no background in Art and Design, I tried getting into a design school but it became a challenge without it. A few portraits I had drawn as soon as I was out of school convinced the head of department to let me in.

Immediately after college I got an opportunity to volunteer as an exhibition guide for the Trust for African Rock Art gallery at the National Museums of Kenya in Nairobi. I eventually got absorbed into the organization as a graphic designer. My greatest achievement while at the Trust was setting up and planning the exhibition space of the Rock Art gallery at the House of Culture in Dar es Salaam, Tanzania.

VISION
To be a benchmark of efficiency that reflect creativity and quality in remote service provision

MISSION
To merge quality services and creativity at competitive rates to provide the best assurance of value to consumers

VALUES
Integrity, Efficiency, Quality

PORTFOLIO

3D Exterior render

3D Exterior render

3d floor plan render

3d floor plan render

3D Floor Plan

3D Floor Plan

3d interior render

3d interior render

3d product renders

3d product renders

Product Render

Product Render

18 Months Plan
0-7 months – Put strategies in place to crack the corporate market. The goal is to build long and sustainable working relationships.
8-12 months – Procure more equipment to be able to handle more work.
13-18 months – Bring in assistance and move to a commercial working space.

About njathika

Simply cannot fit in a box
This entry was posted in Designer, Visualizer and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

