Creative Entrepreneurship 2014 Class IV Profiles: Daniel Onyango

Cover

Performing

Performing


Daniel Onyango

Daniel Onyango


Profile
Name: Daniel Onyango
Occupation: Singer/ Songwriter and Instrumentalist

Vision
To ignite cultural, social and economic empowerment through music

Mission
Inspire, build stronger and inclusive communities through music

Artistic Life Cycle
My passion for music started during primary and secondary school days when growing up in Korogocho and been the only one in the family who choose to pursue a career in arts.
I knew from a very tender age that music was what I wanted to do because it gave me a platform to share and express myself; music to me is the keeper of my dreams.
In 2005, together with my friends we formed the Hope raisers band( which I was the band leader) the first live band group from Korogocho, though we later separated and Hope Raisers emerged later to become a community youth led art and sports organization.
Inspired by the great Ayub Ogada whom I refer as my role model in promoting the African music heritage, I started to learn and play the Nyatiti (Kenyan 8 string traditional instrument) around 2009 through the mentorship of Kenya greatest Nyatiti player, a friend and like a father to me Mzee Vitalis Odour Nyagweno.
During my formative years I listened more to great African musician such as Fela Kuti, Salif Keita, Franco Luambo and Papa Wemba, whose music motivated me to become an artist.
In 2010 with the support of my long time friends we established the Afrika Jambo beats band with an aim of promoting, nurturing and Protecting African and especially the Kenyan music heritage.
In 2011 I joined the University to pursue a Bachelor of Arts degree this meant I had to take a low profile in the music to concentrate with my education.
I would go on to focus on researching about African music, create networks, live performance and strengthen the Africa Jambo beats through member’s capacity building.
With the band we have managed to perform in various function, concerts and festivals around Nairobi.
My dream is to be among the most respected authentic African musician who tells the real African stories through music.

12 Months Plan
My 12 month plan is divided into first, second and third quarter basis and the following are some of the key area that I intend to focus on to improve and market my art work.
• Recording and compiling my first album
• I will focus in creating a stronger network with key stakeholders in the industry and establish strong Online Presence for marketing my work.
• Create a cohesive strong local and international fan base
• Leverage African Jambo beats to professional standards
• Seek to participate in concerts, Festivals and events both locally and internationally

Portfolio

Performance

Performance

In concert

In concert

Playing

Playing

Jamming

Jamming


This entry was posted in Artists, musician, Percussionists, Performing Artist and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment